Nursery Curriculum

The Boots Curriculum 

“Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up”

– Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage

The Boots curriculum 

The Muddy Boots Curriculum goals 

Your child will learn many skills whilst at Muddy Boots. However, we have developed 10 specific curriculum goals that we will work towards with them to give them a strong foundation for future learning. 

B – Believe and Confidence

To have self-belief and confidence which has been built up from strong foundations.

Awareness of own emotions and how to interact with others around them.

O – Organisation and Independence

To be able to follow routines.

Have the skills to be able to dress/undress independently, brush their teeth, and find their own belongings.

Have the skills to be able to independently access the toilet and eat lunch unassisted.

O – Outreach and connection

Have an awareness of the importance of healthy living.

To have a strong connection to the outside world.

T – Talk and communication

Able to communicate needs and wants and use talk in their play

To have a love of books and be able to retell stories.

S – Social connection

To understand what it means to be part of a community.

A child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances

Birth to Five Matters


In September 2021 the statutory framework for the early years foundation stage was updated. The framework does not prescribe a particular teaching approach and therefore, gives nurseries freedom to deliver a curriculum they feel is best for their children. Muddy Boots designed The BOOTS Curriculum goals which you can see above. However, we also opted to use the Birth to Five Matters to guide us in our teaching. Below are some of the reasons for our decision….

The Birth to Five Matters has restored personal, social and emotional development to its position as the first area of learning. 

Ages and stages has been removed, this removes the thinking that children have to be achieving things at a certain age and instead recognises that development is completely individual. 

The document emphases the importance of co-constructing the curriculum with the children, practitioners and families. 

Click here to see the Birth to Five Mattes